YES, YES, YES, I am finally finished with these friggin’ geese!   Honestly you would think that this sort of thing would not be so hard for me to do but it is.  This project so far has been very challenging.

First I have to admit, I procrastinated.  Once I finished Seven Swans, I pretty much farted around doing other non-related stuff  as if I was not aware that I was trying to get this Twelve Days project done before Christmastime.    Drawing animals is NOT my forte, people are.   I can draw people rather quickly, and with little reference, unless I am trying to be specific about a certain look or  body position.

My biggest issue with animals, is that I don’t draw them nearly as often.  I spent a lot of time doing research on the internet,  such as the geese here and the swans in the Seven Swans piece.   You have to study the animal from EVERY angle. THEN  take that and  give them human-like poses.  In this case, I have all six geese lounging on chairs like tourists at a beach.  This is where cartoonists who specialize in drawing animals have my respect.

So what do you think?  Clearly this work is a play on the phrase “A-Laying.”  I  could have had them dropping eggs all over the place like hotcakes but I really like how this one turned out.

Next piece on the list is Three French Hens. I am already excited about this one because for starters, I  won’t have to draw as many animals AND there is going to be a person or two in this one.

Until next time!

Comments on: "Six Geese A-Laying – Final" (2)

  1. What a fun idea! Great job!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

