Chat Noir – The Final

Here kitty kitty!  I’ve finally finished “Chat Noir!”  Not bad for a second attempt at a final piece.  I had an especially hard time painting over the past weekend and I’m sure it was the added pressure that I put on myself trying to complete it.  Also, I spent a few days prior working on some art for church function, where I painted three small “murals.”  I”m sure I suffered from a little painting burnout after that.

The other setback involved color-mixing, where I was trying to find the right shades of gray for shadowing and for the bottom wall.  Initially I thought that the wall color was a little too dark but now I like it because it makes the red curtains pop.  Speaking of curtains, I wanted to give them some texture and interest so I added some swirls.  So much for uniformity.  Some of  them looked like “6s” and some looked like “Es.”   Hey, it was a tough weekend.  Still I am happy with them and the piece overall.

Now on to my next work called “Ninja” where I will be painting some throwing stars.  Here is my sketch.  I’m looking forward to working on this one and am considering making individual stars on smaller canvases.  Each one will have a different color background.   I realized that this was a bit of  a departure from my calm and tranquil art.  Not everyday that I show some blood spattering in my portfolio.  Blood is red though, so I’m just keeping up with the red, black and white theme!

After I complete my “Ninja” project,  I’m going to give painting a rest and go back to drawing.  I need the break from it and plus I want to work on “The Veil,” that I wrote about in a previous post.  It will be nice to go back to pencils and chalk pastels.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

