Yep,  I have just completely fallen away from the drawing table again.  I’m ashamed to even write this post since I  haven’t written anything in a while nor have I created any art since the end of July.  You know it’s hard enough getting started but it’s even harder to start and continue on for a while, then completely stop, and THEN try to get back into it. 

That old nagging inside voice from years ago returned telling me that I would have been much further ahead had I not stopped.  It was telling me, “You’ve already wasted this much time, what’s the point in going back?”  It is of course, the same old mental trap that used to plague me for years, that kept me from pursuing my art in the first place.  Truth be told, it’s only been a couple of months, not six.  It’s not the end of the world.

Funny how you don’t even see it coming, though.  You miss a day here and there and then slowly but surely it starts to add up. Your schedule suddenly becomes overrun with activities, tasks and distractions.  Since you are apprehensive about seizing the day and taking care of business, the unwanted visitor Procrastination makes itself at home and settles in for awhile.    

The last project I was working on was one of my smaller ninja stars.   This was the last shot that I posted where I was about three-quarters of the way through.

Shortly thereafter I painted the rest and drew some speed lines around it and  this is what happened: 

The speed lines around the star look like a black halo of tire tracks.  I have an idea about how to make this better so I will continue to play with the same piece.   This is when you come to the realization that there are just some art projects that are just meant for experimentation.  I bought a total of three of these mini canvases figuring that I was going to jack up one or two of them en route to perfecting the final work.  I’ve also drawn some smaller thumbnail sketches on notepads and sketchbooks so that I can achieve the right look.  Let’s hope I can translate what I sketched in ink and pencil over to paint and canvas.

So, yes, now I am getting back to the drawing table because I won’t be going anywhere if I don’t do anything, right?  Therefore I am making the decision today to get moving.  By the way, it’s okay if you fall down, as long as you get back up. I thank God that He’s given me a new day, and another chance to make it right.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

