It’s a little embarrassing that this drawing took so long to complete.  Compared to other pieces that I’ve done in the past, this was not THAT complicated.  There were just some issues that I didn’t want to deal with such as working on the trees and houses in the background. The original photograph of this tree behind my parents house that I used as a reference wasn’t the best, so ultimately I had to make up some of the landscape.

Overall, I am in love with this piece.

20131031_155516 vs 3

I used chalk pastel on paper to provide that soft, somber look.   The tree in its dormant and death-like state sees its future self in a reflection of vibrant green in the cold, murky waters.  Winters can be long and hard to endure but Spring eventually comes if we just hold on.  It’s similar to when we are going through the dark days of our lives, that we have to continue to hope and dream for better days ahead.

By the way, here is a photo of my beautiful friend during the summertime.  It was so robust, that it actually blocked the view of the lake!  See what happens when a tree can dream?

20130721_101447

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

