So here it is, my latest piece called, “Still,” a 15″ x 17″ chalk pastel work on drawing paper.  I learned a lot about this one, particularly when it comes layering, skin tones, and lighting.  I did a lot of selfies where I sat under an overhead lamp, wearing earrings and even flashing some bare shoulders to determine how the light would hit.  You do what you have to do to get the job done.

BiDzimWIQAAsCDA

Overall this piece signifies the beginning of my new faith journey after being laid off in October.    I feel that I accomplished what I needed to do here by illustrating that sense of calm when one surrenders and becomes still.  This is the state of mind where God wants me to be so that I can hear His voice clearly and can proceed on the path that is directed by Him.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

