“Wisdom”

Now that “Still” is finally finished, I’m ready to move onto the next project.  I’m excited about tackling a new piece with wisdom as the central subject.   In my earlier post I uploaded a sketch called “Seeking Wisdom”, however first I will begin working on another piece about wisdom that was conceived prior to that.

Once again, my inspiration comes from Proverbs 1:20 -23.  Here is the scripture from the New King James Bible:

20. Wisdom calls aloud outside; She raises her voice in the open squares.
21. She cries out in the chief concourses,
At the openings of the gates in the city
She speaks her words:
22. “How long, you simple ones, will you love simplicity?
For scorners delight in their scorning.
And fools hate knowledge.
23. Turn at my rebuke;
Surely, I will pour out my spirit on you;
I will make my words known to you.”

I’ve been fleshing out her Wisdom’s costume and as stated in my earlier post, I’m trying to combine both medieval and African garb. I played around with this one sketch and posted it to Facebook and much to my surprise, it garnered a very positive reaction. Funny thing about art is that I never know how the audience will react. I just make friggin’ art and hope that people get it.

20140315_201327

Last week, I drew a close-up of Wisdom, focusing on the head wrap and the armor-like bodice.

Wisdom Close up

Then I did a series of poses and I’ll do more until I can determine the right one.Wisdom poses

We’ll see how this goes. I’ve already made my trek to Hobby Lobby and picked up some gray-tone chalk pastels.  Since I’ve had pretty good luck with chalk pastels from the last piece, I’ll give them another go.  Looks like I’m not giving up this medium any time soon.

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

