“Goodness and Mercy”

Psalm 23:6 says “Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life.”   In light of these last six months, I couldn’t agree more.  I’m still on the job hunt but God has been keeping me all this time. The lights are still on, mortgage is still being paid, and there’s food on my table.  I’ve even been the recipient of random acts of kindness and even the standard kindness from friends and family.  There are no words that can express my sincere gratitude.

20140402_080917

While pondering over this psalm, I imagined that “goodness” and “mercy” were like kites flying overhead, following the person who held them by the strings.  In this case, the person that I drew was a girl in a bathing suit running with the kites.  I see that young girl in myself as the kites follow her, their tails leaving trails of color, painting the skies.  She holds onto them, just as someone would hold on to their faith in tough times.

The work was created using watercolor crayon and pencil on watercolor paper.  I steered away from being too technical and allowed myself to be little messy and less controlled with the blending.  Is this how God approaches the skies when He paints the sunrises and sunsets?  If so, you certainly don’t hear anyone complaining about it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

